Transferring Your Real Estate License To New Jersey
We have been getting a lot of calls asking how to transfer your real estate license to New Jersey. Unfortunately, it’s not so simple as filing a quick application. In fact, there's no reciprocity with other states. In this article, we will discuss the specific requirements and process to do so.
As always, please reference the New Jersey Real Estate Commission's website for the latest information.
Education Exceptions (Waivers)
Be at least 18 years of age when applying
Someone who has earned a college degree from any accredited institution of higher education, provided that:
a) The total number of college level classroom hours devoted to real estate and related subjects was 75-hours, or more, and such courses were completed within three (3) years of making application; or
b) The applicant received a bachelor or associate degree in real estate regardless of how long prior to their application for a waiver they received that degree: or
c) The applicant satisfactorily completed 75 classroom hours, or more, of course work in real estate, or related subjects, at least 45 hours of which consisted of instruction on real estate conducted as part of a post-graduate program and that such post-graduate studies were completed within three (3) years of making application
Someone who hold or held a real estate license issued by another State, provided that:
a) The applicant has satisfactorily completed a prelicensure course of real estate education at a proprietary school, college or university in that State;
b) The prelicensure course was sanctioned by the real estate licensing authority of that State;
c) The total number of classroom hours included in the course was a minimum of 75;
d) The applicant qualified for licensure in that State by examination; and
e) The applicant was actively license in that State within three (3) years of applying for the waiver
Brokers who have held a real estate broker’s license issued by another State and who were actively engaged in the real estate brokerage business within three years immediately preceding the date of application;
Attorneys-at-law admitted to practice in NJ or in any other State, at the time of making application;
Get Fingerprinted. → Visit Identogo Hereto schedule an appointment
Register for and pass the PSI Exams Real Estate Salesperson Exam in New Jersey
Apply for a license within 1 year from the date of passing the State Exam
An applicant has not had any discipline imposed by another regulating entity, and has no pending complaint, allegation, or investigation
Who Does NJREC Consider To Be A "Resident" Of New Jersey?
Every individual who is in this state for other than a temporary or transitory purpose.
Or, every individual who is domiciled in this state and who is outside the state for a temporary or transitory purpose. Any individual who is a resident of this state continues to be a resident even though temporarily absent from the state.
Or, every individual who spends in the aggregate more than nine months of the taxable year within this state shall be presumed to be a resident. The presumption may be overcome by competent evidence that the individual is in the state for a temporary or transitory purpose.
Expedite Your Application
Complete the NJ Salesperson education waiver application in entirety. NOTE: Any incomplete, incorrect, illegible or missing documentation and/or information can halt processing and/or potentially result in the return of the application package minus the non-refundable $25.00 application fee.
All completed applications must have your full legal name (First, Middle Initial, Last Name), both printed and signed, and the date (mm/dd/yyyy) completed.
Obtain a valid “original” Certificate of Licensure (COL), or License History (For Broker to Salesperson) from the Real Estate Commission of the jurisdiction you are applying from. Do not have your Real Estate Commission send the COL to the NJREC. The “original” COL must be part of your NJ salesperson’s waiver application package submission. Your real estate license is not an acceptable substitute for an official COL. NOTE: The Real Estate Commission’s COL cannot exceed 30 days, otherwise a new COL will be required. 30 calendar days is identified as the period of time from date of issue to receipt by the NJREC Education Bureau.
Completion of additional hours may be required to meet the New Jersey salesperson 75-hour licensing requirement. If so, you must obtain, and submit, a valid and “original” school completion certificate(s), or transcript(s). The only acceptable alternative(s) to meet the minimal 75-hour requirement are as follows:
a) NJREC approved 15-hour “refresher” course available at most NJREC approved real estate schools;
b) Certificates, or transcripts, of additional Broker only pre-licensure course hours. NOTE: Courses hours completed in NJ must be physically taken at an approved NJREC Real Estate school. HOWEVER, on-line course hours will be accepted only if the Real Estate Commission of the non- New Jersey jurisdiction, in which you hold your real estate license, approves of on-line real estate broker only pre-licensure courses.
c) Include the $25.00 salesperson waiver non-refundable application fee. Details as follows:
• Only “ACCEPTABLE” payment types: Business check, bank cashier or certified check or money order.
• Make acceptable payment types payable to: “STATE TREASURER OF NEW JERSEY”
• “UNACCEPTABLE” payment types: personal checks, cash, credit cards
Submit all “original” documentation, namely your NJ Salesperson education waiver application, COL, $25.00 application fee, and any related documents, as a complete package, NOT as individual pieces, to:
NEW JERSEY REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
20 West State Street
P.O. Box 328
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0328
Attn: Stephen Thompson, NJREC Education Bureau, 7th floor
We Are Here To Help You Pass The New Jersey Real Estate Exam
Become a NJ Real Estate Salesperson
The full 75 hours required by the state of New Jersey to test for your Real Estate salesperson license are now 100% online!