Complete all 150 hours of instruction online. The full 150 hours must be completed prior to taking the school's final exam.
Pass your 3 real estate broker's school exams. These exams are administered by our instructors and are required to be passed by NJREC. It mimics the official test and acts as a gauge to determine your readiness. Our school tests are complementary to students. Should you require a retest, our instructors will work with you to create a plan of action to give you the best chance of success!
Upon successful completion of the courses, the applicant must submit a fully executed school certificate, Experience Activity Report(s)
completed by the broker(s) the applicant has worked for during the last 3 years, and a $25.00 processing fee (No personal checks accepted
) to the Commission for approval. If approved, a Certificate of Examination Eligibility will be issued which will allow the applicant to make a reservation to challenge the broker examination. Applicants must pass the examination and make an application for a license within one year of completing the second 30-hour course.
Pass the PSI Exams NJ Broker's Exam. This is the official exam and is divided into two parts for New Jersey and National topics. You must pass both of these in order to move forward in the licensing process. Currently, the cost is $47.
New Jersey requires that you get fingerprinted for verification of your background. This is done through IdentoGo and can be scheduled here
. Currently the cost is $66.05
Before you “activate” your license, you must decide to either:
A) Open your own business and become a Broker of Record or,
B) Have a designated broker in New Jersey that will allow you to work under their brokerage. This is a New Jersey law and is commonly referred to as “hanging your license”. Simply put, all real estate broker-salespersons must work for a broker. They cannot handle transactions legally without one.
Finally, activate your license with the New Jersey Real Estate Commission by submitting a $160 Certified Check or Money Order written to the State Treasurer of New Jersey.
There are certain requirements to become a real estate agent. If you have any more questions on the licensing process, finding a broker to work for or anything about our school, please contact us and we’ll put an instructor in touch with you.